Are Kids Getting Ripped Off Nowadays?

Are Kids Getting Ripped Off Nowadays?

On the weekend I decided to make a cake.

Not a special occasion cake. A ‘just because’ cake.

Just because I felt like something sweet to munch on. Just because I felt like making something that didn’t involve fabric. Just because I had some frozen strawberries. Just because I had some over ripe bananas.

So I made a Strawberry and Banana Cake. This cake is BEYOND YUMMY!!!

Now as I started to measure out and mix the ingredients, with Lilli May a very attentive audience in her high chair next to me, I used my Nigella Lawson like running commentary for her to follow what I was doing. I was even wearing a knitted roll neck skivvy!

During this entire process I started to ponder two questions that maybe you can give me your opinion on:

1. At what age can I start to allow Lilli May (read: when do I have to SHARE ) the licking of the cake mix from the beaters? Keeping in mind the raw egg factor.

and

2. With the invention of the spatula, and its terrible wonderful efficient ability to scrape every last drop of cake mix form the sides of the bowl (see photo)…does this mean that kids nowadays are getting ripped off and not enjoying all the cakey wonderfulness that was on a bowl that was once scraped out by a wooden spoon?!

What do you think?!

Keep smiling!

Mich

Comments

  1. Elliot likes licking the spoon already. No ill effects here. As for those pesky spatulas, the trick is that something still needs to lick the spatula. And now you have to share your cake recipe, sounds good!

Leave a comment

