LMD’s Choco Mugo Desserto

LMD’s Choco Mugo Desserto

Our oven literally exploded on Sunday evening!  I turned it on, as I arranged the ingredients for the baked dinner I had planned. Then I heard this bang and sizzle noise to turn around and see a flame and sparks inside it! I yelled to the husband for help. He turned it off for me and rescued his little Stepford Wife!  🙂

So we have no oven at the moment. That’s ok, we have slow cooker, a microwave and of course the trusty toaster.  These appliances had been doing a great job all week until Tuesday night when I was craving some dessert. It was cold. It was rainy. It just seemed like the right time of the month to have some chocolate.  😉

However, as I had subjected my husband to watching a Twilight movie with me the previous Friday night, I was all out of favours in the ‘can you please go out and get me some chocolate darling husband’ department. So after getting the recipe books out and looking at my ingredients etc I came to create the LMD’s CHOCO MUGO DESSERTO. And to say this is YUM, simply does not do it justice.

Light and spongy. Chocolatey. Sweet. Warm. Gooey. Satisfying. Best of all……SIMPLE!

So I thought it only fair that I share this creation with the world!

You can make this just for one (just use half the ingredients). I also made my ones LACTOSE FREE by using LACTOSE FREE milk. I am sure this recipe would also work well with GLUTEN FREE FLOUR and with COCOA in place of the Chocolate Drink mix, you may just need to adjust the sugar to ensure its sweetness.

I made a two cup version. I was more than happy to eat both cups….but because apparently he wasnt keen enough on something chocolate if it involved braving the elements, but if it was in the house, then yes the husband would “love some thanks babe”. Sigh.

What you need:

  • People you live with that don’t want to eat a warm fluffy Choco Mugo Desserto then you wont have to share
  • Two microwave safe mugs
  • 4 tablespoons Self Raising Flour
  • 4 tablespoons Sugar
  • 2 tablespoons any Hot Chocolate Drink powder mix
  • 1 Egg
  • 3 tablespoons Milk
  • 3 tablespoons Vegetable Oil
  • Vanilla Extract (optional)
  • Plastic Cling Film
  • Coconut Milk Powder (optional)
  • Ice Cream
  • Chocolate Topping (optional)
  • A spoon (two if you have to share)

Place two tablespoons of Self Raising Flour in the bottom of each mug. Add two tablespoons of Sugar to each mug. Then add one tablespoon of the Hot Chocolate Drink powder mix to each. Stir well with a fork.

Then add one and a half tablespoons of both the oil and the milk to each mug with a little splash of vanilla extract. 

In another little bowl, lightly beat up the egg with a fork. Pour half the egg mixture into each of the cups. How you get an exact ‘half an egg’ in each one is not important – nor probably possible – just use your best judgement.

Then mix this in well together with the fork.

Cover the cup loosely with cling film and pop in the microwave. Time will depend on the microwave you have. For a powerful one (ours is) you only need 1 minute and 30 seconds max and if not then about 2 minutes maximum time. Remember that you want it to be a little gooey at the bottom and they will still continue to cook a little once you take them out.

Yes they are not pretty but don’t judge a book by its cover.

Remove the cling film and then place a scoop of your favourite ice cream on top and sprinkle some Coconut Milk Powder over it.

If you want an extra indulgent hit of sweetness then drizzle some chocolate flavouring/sauce/topping!

When you dive into it with your spoon, you will taste its warm and spongy goodness.

As you can see there was nothing left… I now just need a little mini spatula for next time..so I can get the remaining bits out to eat….which may be later tonight!

Let me know if you try this and what your results are like! Enjoy!

Keep smiling

Mich

Leave a comment

