Yummy Custard & Choc Hazelnut Baked Croissants

Yummy Custard & Choc Hazelnut Baked Croissants

Do you like warm custard?

Do you like hazelnut chocolate?

Do you like ice cream?

Then this dessert is made just for you!! This is one of the yummiest things I have EVER eaten. And since I have eaten it, I can’t stop thinking about it. It is THAT good!

THIS CAN ALSO BE MADE DAIRY FREE BY USING LACTOSE FREE MILK, LACTOSE FREE CREAM AND LACTOSE FREE CHOC HAZELNUT SPREAD.

Ok here we go!

THIS RECIPE SERVES 4 (well it served two and bit here as it was so delish we had large servings) so you CAN USE HALF OF THE BELOW INGREDIENTS TO SERVE 2.

Ingredients:

180g castor sugar

6 eggs

½ teaspoon vanilla essence

3 Vanilla Beans split and scraped out or ½ -1 teaspoon of vanilla bean paste (depends how vanilla-ry you like things)

300ml cream

900ml milk

8 large size croissants

50g brown sugar

chocolate hazelnut spread (like nutella or just use nutella)

oven dish

Preheat oven to 18oC.

In a large bowl whisk the castor sugar, eggs, vanilla essence and vanilla beans or vanilla bean paste.

Once combined add the cream and the milk and mix together well.

Grease your chosen dish. I use cooking spray.

Then cut the croissants into 3 pieces each.

Smother them in the choc hazelnut spread. Make sure you eat some whilst you are doing this to!! 🙂

Lay them out in the dish anyway your heart desires. I did pick at them at this stage and it already tasted yummy. I started with them laid out all orderly…then after picking off some of the chocolatey goodness to eat, I rearrange it and made it  less obvious on how much I had just eaten more ‘messy & rustic’ looking.

Then pour over the custard mixture and sprinkle the brown sugar over the top.

Wait an excruciatingly long 30 mins (approximately) until it is golden brown and crispy on top and the custard has set.

Serve with vanilla ice cream or cream and sprinkle it with a bit more brown sugar. The croissants have soaked up some of the custard and that mixed with the warm gooey chocolate hazelnut taste and the melting cold ice cream is just DEVINE!!

 I wish I had a photo of what it looked like when it was ready and taken out of the oven….but I don’t I am sorry…I was so excited to see what it tasted like I completely forgot to take a photo!!!!!!!!!

But I can assure you IT IS VERY YUMMY!! Make it this weekend!!

Keep smiling!

Michka

Leave a comment

