Lilli May’s Luscious Lemon Butter

Lilli May’s Luscious Lemon Butter

It just breaks your heart when kids are sick doesn’t it?!

Poor Lilli May has been unwell the last few days and so our days have been spent with lots of cuddles on the couch and in bed and watching of movies. This is the first time that she has shown interest in movies and sitting still for the whole time and watching them. The Toy Story movies are such funny movies and perfect for all ages! I love it too! I cry every time I see the third one…the scene going into the furnace and they are all holding hands!! Aaarrggghhhh so sad!!!

With all this down time it has given me a chance to sit still too and share a recipe for you.

I am sure everyone has a Lemon Butter recipe that they use, well this is mine. I have had it for over 30 years! It was given to me by Val. Val was our elderly neighbor when I was a kid and as my favourite food was to eat lemons with salt (and still is!) …..she introduced me to lemon butter and wrote this recipe out for me on the back of an old cereal box and I keep it to this day in my recipe journal. It is the BEST lemon butter I have tasted!

I have also converted the ingredients for you to make it easy.

Ingredients

Makes approx 600mls

60g Butter

3 medium size Eggs

450g Sugar

120mls Water

120 mls freshly squeezed Lemon Juice

Rind of some of the lemon (optional, add to the juice)

a couple of old jars (that you have poured boiling water over and in – this can be done in a clean sink with the plug in or in a saucepan – to sterilise them.)

Measure out the butter and the sugar and place in a double saucepan. I actually just use a single saucepan and not have it too high..and move it so that half the bottom of it is over the heat if it gets to hot. 🙂

Juice the lemons and add the juice to the water and set aside ready.

Lightly beat the eggs together with a fork.

Mix the egg mixture together with the sugar and butter over a medium heat until the butter is melted.

Stir constantly (to avoid the eggs scrambling whilst the it heats up).

Once the butter has melted add the water and the lemon juice mix and stir until it boils.

The longer it cooks the thicker it will become. Also it will thicken upon cooling.

Let it cool slightly and pour it in to sterile jars. Also let it cool slightly before eating spoonfuls of it otherwise, like me, you will burn your tongue!

Put on the lid/s and allow to cool completely. Best to store it in the fridge. Use within one week.

You can eat it straight from the jar, or on bread, toast, scones, over ice cream or even in pre-made tartlet cases with a hot cuppa whilst watching Toy Story! Yum! Even Lilli May loves it!

Let me know what you think if you try it.

Keep smiling

Michka

Comments

  1. Something to try!

Leave a comment

