LMD Cookbook Club #1 – Chillied Tomato and Garlic Chutney

LMD Cookbook Club #1 – Chillied Tomato and Garlic Chutney

It is so satisfying to know that not only am I making good use, finally, of my cookbooks but I am also expanding my repertoire of things I can make for my family.

As I said last week I plan to select ONE of my cookbooks and I am going to choose ONE recipe that I have NEVER made before and then make it. I also hope to have a side benefit of using some of the kitchen appliances that I have that have long since sat in the cupboard. After I make it I will provide a review here in the hope that it may inspire you to grab out your recipe books and make something similar or you may even want to purchase the cookbook itself and make it.

Without much further ado here we go!

Here is the photo from the book:

Book Chutney

Recipe : Chillied Tomato & Garlic Chutney

Book : Ultimate Slow Cooker

Author : Sara Lewis

Estimated Prep Time vs Actual : 30 mins/30mins

Cook Time : 7-8 hours

Level : Easy

Ingredients : Mostly pantry items

Appliance/s require : Slow Cooker

Real Life vs Photo :  5 out of 5.  Turned out just like the photo

Result/Taste : 4.5 out of 5

Book Cover Wk 1

My main reason for choosing this recipe is the abundance of yummy tomatoes growing in our garden and I needed something that would use a lot of them as we have  a LOT of them. The first step I did when starting this recipe was to go out to our back yard and hand-pick one kilo of fresh yummy ripe tomatoes to bring them inside and start cooking with them! You can’t get fresher than that! 🙂

Ingredients

As you can see, the ingredients include mostly pantry items, I was lucky enough to have all the ingredients on hand – if you don’t cook regularly you may need to buy items like the sultanas, allspice and the cinnamon stick – otherwise it was only tomatoes, apples, capsicums (red peppers) onions, vinegar, sugar, chilli and garlic.

The only part that I thought would be a chore was the peeling of the tomatoes.  There were only a couple of them that ended up being a little difficult. All the others peeled really easy – they were well-ripened so I think this helped. The recipe just stated ‘tomatoes, peeled’. I did not bother with the boiling and dropping in cold water method to peel them – I mean seriously?! Who has time for that!! I also would recommend using fresh tomatoes not canned ones.

For the less experienced cook, they may feel a little confused with some of the instructions – or lack thereof really – example with the capsicum, it just says ‘chopped’ not what type of chop – some may prefer more detail like what size/direction, 1cm chunks etc

Chopped Capsicum

I made only one change to the recipe and that was to only put in half the recommended amount of chilli to see the result and add it all next time if necessary. Other than that it was as simple as put all the ingredients in the slow cooker and putting on the lid.

Slow Cooker Start

Turning it on to high and leaving it for the day for 8 hours. I did stir it a couple of time during this time.

At the end of the cooking time it looked like this and was, as expected, reduced:

Slow Cooker End

I have to say that this is one of the tastiest chutney’s that I have ever tasted! It is full-bodied and chunky and has so many different flavours coming through and is a pleasure to eat. It goes with so much as well even on its own on a crusty bread roll it is lovely – or with peppered pork like in my photo below. I also think with all the chilli added it may be a little hot for some – so if you aren’t sure, add only a small amount and then add more once it is cooked if required. I will definitely be making this again. Yum!

Mich's Chutney

So I hope you enjoyed my first weekly review. If you have any questions let me know. I have the Husbando looking through another of the cookbooks for this weeks recipe and cant wait to see what he picks!
So what new recipe did you try this week? What chutney recipe do you recommend?

Hope to see you back here next week!

Keep smiling!

Michka

Leave a comment

