Lilli May’s Creamy Cheesy Lactose Free Potato Bake

Lilli May’s Creamy Cheesy Lactose Free Potato Bake

A couple of weeks ago I mentioned on my Facebook page that I had my yummy Creamy Cheesy Lactose Free Potato Bake in the oven and lots of people commented that they would like the recipe. So I agreed to post it for them.

As it was something that I had been making for years (ever since I realised I had problems with lactose), I had no idea of the quantities that I use. I am used to making it based on look, feel and taste. So I had to wait until I made it again so that I could take note of some quantities (and take photos of each step) to help those that need them. I have also included some information about why I use the products that I do – as over the years I have tried LOTS of lactose free foods and some of them are terrible and some are fantastic!

So here it is! Obviously you can make this NON dairy free and just use normal cream and normal cheese. 🙂

The Ingredients

Ingredients

4 large potatoes

1 medium onion – brown or white

3-4 rashers of bacon diced roughly (optional)

1-2 teaspoons garlic (crushed)

1 egg

250ml – 350ml pouring cream (lactose free)

250g (approx.) cheese – grated (lactose free) if you like it cheesy add more

salt and pepper to taste

spray oil or lactose free margarine

VARIATIONS:

Omit bacon or replace with veggie rashers for vegetarian version.

Omit egg and replace with half a packet of powdered French Onion Soup and increase cream added – adds a real onion bite to it and a runny/creamy consistency once cooked.

Method

1. Preheat oven to 180 (degrees Celsius) and spray a suitable baking dish with the spray oil. Any dish will do depending on the number of people you are making this for.

Grease the dish

2. Slice potatoes to about 3mm thickness. But don’t stress if it is more or less – just try to keep it consistent so that they all take the same cooking time.

Slice the potato

3. Place a layer of the potato slices on the base of the dish

First Layer

4. Sprinkle over some of the onion, bacon and cheese

Add other items to the layer

5. In a separate bowl/jug add the garlic to the egg

Egg and Garlic

6. Lightly whisk with a fork and add all the cream – amount will differ depending on how ‘runny’ you want the creaminess to be after cooking

Add cream

7. Pour a smallish amount of this over the layers currently in the dish

Add cream mix to dish

8. Repeat this until all the potatoes are used and layered with the other ingredients and finish with the last of the cream mixture and cover the top in cheese. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.

All layers done

9. Bake in the oven until potato is to taste/tender – approximately 45-60 minutes – please check it after 30 mins as ovens do vary – ours is terribly slow so yours may cook faster .

If your oven is fierce and tends to be really hot, then you can cover it with foil whilst cooking for the first part and remove it towards the end to brown the top.

Baked and ready to eat!

10. You will see I like the cream mixture to end up firm as it is easier and less messy for toddlers to eat!

11. Eat.

Goes with anything be it salad, meat, seafood etc or a great meal on its own. Also nice to eat cold the next day.

Inside!

Products used:

The two main lactose free products that make this dish are Mini-Chol Cheese and Lactose Free Cream.

MINI-CHOL CHEESE

Mini Chol Cheese

I have been eating lactose free/dairy free cheeses for years and years and years. During this time it has been a mission to find and discover one that doesn’t taste horrid or at the very least have SOME taste. A few years ago I discovered Mini Chol and have NOT looked back!

This cheese is, I think, fantastic and the ONLY cheese that I now eat. If I can’t get it, I go without cheese, although this is occurring less and less as some supermarkets are starting to stock this. You do need to look for it though. It may be at the deli counter or stuffed in amongst the ‘international’ cheeses or even in the ‘vegetarian’ section of the chilled foods. Also don’t just expect the supermarket to be cheaper – sometimes it is, but at my local, it is not, the local deli is.

IMPORTANT NOTE: this cheese is VERY expensive – it can be anywhere between $22-$30 per kg. Yikes! The plus side though is, if you can’t eat normal cheese, then YOU MUST try this, one as no other one that I have found, tastes as palatable as this one. It IS a mild cheese (don’t expect a big tasty cheese punch) and it is creamy tasting. I find it tastes even more like real cheese when it is cooked – so PERFECT for homemade pizza, toasted cheese & tomato sandwiches or just as yummy melted cheese under the grill on some bread that has had a bit of garlic rubbed over it! YUMMO! It is also yummy diced up in a salad.

LACTOSE FREE CREAM

The Liddells brand is the best on the market that I have found that is EASY to find to replace anywhere that pouring cream is required. It is lovely on its own, eg chilled, in a bowl of fresh passionfruit sprinkled with sugar or in savoury dishes like my above recipe. It is easy to find in most of the major supermarkets but can be a little tricky to find. Sometimes it is in the packet dessert’s section, the health food/allergen food section or near the long life milk section.

Lactose Free Cream

The only downside is it doesn’t thicken upon beating – so not good if you are looking for lactose free thickened cream – yes I know it says that on the packet, but it is runny exactly like pouring cream. Liddells also has a fantastic Lactose Free milk which tastes like normal milk – great for those that don’t like the taste of soy/almond/rice etc milk and can’t have lactose.

I hope you like this recipe and enjoy trying these products, if you haven’t already, and are looking for lactose free alternatives. Also just because you may not be able to have lactose, doesn’t mean you need to miss out on yummy, normally dairy laden items. I have discovered the yummiest lactose free ice creams of all flavours, desserts, hazelnut spread (like Nutella – which you can use in my Chocolate Filled Croissants ), chocolate rum balls, biscuits (including Tim Tam like ones – did a dance when I found these little babies), whipped (spray can) cream, chocolate brownie mix, chocolates etc etc. It has taken me YEARS to find these and as the years pass, they are becoming more readily available and certainly better tasting! Enjoy your quest!

Any questions, please let me know.

Keep smiling

Michka

Comments

  1. Thank u so much for posting this my son and I are both lacrosse introtlant and love pototo bake and been looking for a recipe will be trying it soon

Leave a comment

