LMD Cookbook Club # 3 – Pear Tarte Tatin

LMD Cookbook Club # 3 – Pear Tarte Tatin

I made this recipe last week and have only now had a chance to share it!

What a couple of weeks it has been! I know I have been slow in getting the next installment of my LMD Cookbook Club but I have been flat out with family visiting, everyday life and of course orders for my facebook page.

This weeks choice was made by the husbando and to be honest, I did sit on it for a week..because I was too nervous. It is something that I have always wanted to make, but have been too chicken to try. So I procrastinated! Then I tried it! Here is the photo from the book:

Book Cover

Recipe : Pear Tarte Tatin

Book : COOK with JAMIE – My Guide to Making You a Better Cook Author : Jamie Oliver Estimated

Prep Time vs Actual : none given/10 mins

Cook Time : 30 mins approx

Level : Moderate

Ingredients : Mostly pantry items. I omitted the thyme, as I didn’t have thyme to buy it LOL

Appliance/s require : Stove/Oven

Real Life vs Photo :  2.5 out of 5. 

Ingredients

Result/Taste : 4.5 out of 5

Ok so I was super nervous as I did this. Only a few simple ingredients but so much room for error! I decided to make it easier and use store bought frozen pastry. 🙂 Other than the pastry, my other ingredients are all lactose free including the butter and the ice cream.

So after chopping up the pears I realised that we don’t have a heavy bottomed fry pan that can go in the oven! *gasp* what type of chef am I?!

Prep

So I decided to use my heavy bottomed cake tin and it worked an absolute treat!! Winning!

Thus began the making of the syrup. Stressful? VERY!!!

Syrup

I was so terrified that I was going to burn it or ruin it…and thought that I had after I added the pears – as it went a bit toffee like and in a bit of a lump – but once I put it back on the heat it re-melted and was fine!!

Then I added the other ingredients – I didn’t toast the almonds, and it still tasted fine. Although I know the toasting would be yummier.

All in the pot

Then place the pastry on top.

Pastry on top

Bake it. Looking good!

Crispy Peary Goodness

Ta daaaaaa

Photo 18-02-13 9 43 40 PM

Now it may not look exactly like the photo in the book – I think this is because my pears were ripe and thus they had more juice and were softer – BUT it tastes SOOOOOOOOO yummy!! I can not believe how yummy this stuff is!!!

It says ‘serves 4’.

4 what?

Ants?

The husbando and I demolished this together that night!! LOL Even then I was reluctant to give him any!!

So if you are making it for others to share, perhaps make two so there will be enough for everyone.

So again, I like Jamie’s tone as he explains the recipe etc but for the inexperienced cook, you are going to want more details in relation to each step. Dont let that stop you though – as the result is phenomenally yummy and worth any guess work you have to undertake!

Anyway, I am looking forward to this weeks new recipe as it looks very yummy too, but I must go now as I HAVE to go and make this Pear Tarte Tatin again!

Keep smiling!

Michka

Leave a comment

